Home > Sci Tech > SRM Hackathon 4.0

SRM Hackathon 4.0

Being a National level development event cum competition, SRM Hackathon 4.0, organized by the IT Association of SRM Institute of Science and Technology was a runaway success, which went on for 36 hours continuously from 11th to 12th October 2019. SRM Hackathon 4.0 acts as a great platform that would transmute the thoughts and ideas of participants with some sheer guidance into a lifetime experience.

srm hackathon

SRM Hackathon 4.0 had 2048 registrations out of which 40 teams were shortlisted. It witnessed a participation of total 32 teams having a total of 107 participants. Prizes worth 8 Lakh rupees were given away. Skills DA was the title sponsor for the event whereas Snapchat, Coding Blocks, Coding Ninja, HackerEarth, Sketch, HostCube India, Bugsee, Stumagz, GitHub, Wolfram, Ridley, HelloIntern, GeeksForGeeks, SRMPedia, Neuronerdz, RedBull, McDonald’s, Zeeta cabs, Income, SIIC, Viacom 18, Uniq, Zulip, VH1, One plus were some of the proud partners.

The registrations at the venue began on 11th October 2019 at 0930 hours. Members of the IT Association of SRM Institute of Science and Technology were present at the venue, as the Organizing Committee and helped the participants throughout the event. The participants were provided with goodie bags and Hackathon ID cards, on registration.

Image may contain: 2 people, people sitting and table

The inauguration was presided over by our honorable Chief Guest, the Vice-Chancellor of SRM Institute of Science and Technology, Dr. Sandeep Sancheti, along with the judges of the Hackathon, Mr. Murali Sundaram from Nupedia Technologies Pvt.Ltd, Mr. Mohan Gopalakrishnan from Chargebee and Mr. Satish Vaidyanathan from PayPal. Participants had brilliant and experienced mentors Mr. Om Prakash, CTO at MyKarma, Mr. Venktesh V from Mr. Cooper, Mr. Srivatsav Balan from ZOHO, Mr. Satheesh Selvaraj from Wipro, Mrs. Shenbaga Prasanna from Amazon Web Services and Mr. Aashish Vivekanand from Deep Identity. The chief guests addressed the gathering and prompted them to erect products that are beneficial to society. The Vice president of IT association, Mr. Arnav Bansal gave a welcome speech, thanking the judges and the mentors for their presence and wished to the participants to perform their best for the event.

Following the inauguration, the participants were guided to their respective seats, in order for them to proceed with the programming for their idea for the Hackathon. This was followed by a brief pitching session where each team was given approximate time duration of 30 seconds to pitch their ideas, the theme and the technology they would use. The mentors divided the teams among themselves through mutual understanding, in order to help the participants reach the goal they had set for themselves. The innovations of the participants included themes like Technology in brand experience, sustainability, future mobility, IT security, tourism, and defense.

During the whole duration of the event, the participants had to regularly push their codes to GitHub so that the organizing team could keep a check of any unfair means being exercised by the participants which could lead to disqualification of the team.

1 person

Table tennis, chess, and carrom boards were also provided for the entertainment of the participants and to refresh their minds during the event. One of the technical partners ONEPLUS provided goodies for the winners of their contests which lead to cheering up of participants.

The code submission ended at 1500 hours on Day 2. The top 10 teams were declared soon after the end of the idea pitching session II by the judges and the mentors. The rest of the teams were provided the participation certificates. The top 10 teams pitched their ideas in front of the rest of the crowd, battling for the best prize.

The judges and the mentors, after a meticulous discussion, declared Dragon Booster as the winner, Brainy Streets as the first runner up and Trash to Treasure as the second runner up. The teams received a cash prize by the judges in the form of a cheque of 75 thousand, 45 thousand and 25 thousand respectively. Some of the teams were provided with special prizes. The Phenomenal Women was given away to the team Kaito, Social stars prize to Team Gen Y from SRM, The Lone Wolf prize to the team Arul_Mech and People’s favorite to BeeClust. The winning teams also received goodies like graphic T-shirts.

The president of the IT association, Mrs. M. Safa thanked the judges and the mentors for their guidance and for gracing the events with their presence. She also appreciated the hard work of the organizing team for the smooth conduction of the event. The end of the evening was marked by the facilitation of the judges and mentors.

2 thoughts on “SRM Hackathon 4.0

Leave a Reply